2012_football_teamJust two years removed from a string of losing seasons, the Lynnville-Sully Hawk football team and their fans have to be proud of the 2012 season despite falling just short of the UNI-Dome. This year's squad finished the season with a 9-3 record, a Class A District 6 championship, and two playoff wins. The dream season came to an early end on Nov. 2 when the Hawks fell to district rival BGM, 28-13. The Hawks won an earlier matchup against the Bears in week four of the regular season, 33-7, but couldn't pull off a victory in Friday night's quarterfinal showdown. The tremendous Hawk season led to the first district championship for L-S in 13 years. The boys started off the season plyaing Class 1A Pella Christian in the first-ever matchup between the two schools on the football field. Though the Hawks fell to the Eagles, it would be one of only three losses the Hawks would record on the season. In week two, the Hawks shutout Eddyville-Blakesburg, 21-0, and in week three, the Hawks lost in a close contest at Pekin. From that point on until the end of the regular season, the Hawks racked up a new victory every week, culminating with the win over Montezuma on Oct. 19 that secured the Hawks' position as district champs -- the first time since 1999. In the playoffs, the Hawks dominated WACO and Montezuma but fell to BGM in the quarterfinal round. The L-S boys recorded seven shutout games this season and finished with a 9-3 overall record.

Team members shown from left are: Front row, Zack Kaldenberg, Jamie Rea, Payton Haack, Austin Newell, Levi Bennington, Shane Thompson, Nathan Russell, Coach Mike Parkinson, Brady Van Wyk, Cale Van Wyk, Cody Nikkel, Bishop Poole, Daniel Zimmerman, Bailee Samson, Noah Zylstra; second row, Kobe Fisk, Shannon Dunsbergen, Tristan Van Wyk, Cole Nickel, Lucas Smith, Caleb James, Manager Brooke Jansen, Manager Heather Jansen, Caden Doll, Darin Hofer, Brandon Dunsbergen, Blake Wehrle, TJ Cunningham, Kyle Hamilton, Lucas Rozendaal; third row, Anthony Garrett, Baker Zegers, Kyle Van Dyke, Nick Lirio, Kyle Kramer, Noah Engle, Connor Cullen, Manager Jessica Leavens, Manager Morgan Leeman, Sage Ehresman, Austin Van Manen, Josh DeWitt, Joe Van Wyk, Aaron Johnson, Payton Scandridge; back row, Jayson Hardin, Dillon Van Manen, Levi Cordes, Ross Van Wyk, Coach Cameron Van Zante, Coach TC Cunningham, Coach Craig Parkinson, Coach Bob Scandridge, Dalton Leeman, Thane Redding, and Jordan Redding. (Photo by Taylor Photography)