With all the starters returning from last year, the 2012-13 L-S boys basketball team was an experienced force to be reckoned with this season. They racked up an impressive 20-4 overall record and claimed a share of the SICL Conference title. Its only conference losses came at the hands of Sigourney, once in January and once in February. In the post-season, the Hawks easily handled Belle Plaine and Montezuma but got behind early in the district final against Iowa Mennonite. They clawed their way back into the game and almost stole the lead from IMS, but they came up short of the victory that would have sent them to the sub-state game. 

Seniors on this year's team were Ryan Jansen, Nathan Russell, Dave Trettin, Cale Van Wyk, and Brady Van Wyk.

Members of the 2012-13 L-S varsity boys basketball team were, from left, front: Jacob Walker, Cale Van Wyk, Darin Hofer, Kyle Van Dyke, Dave Trettin, Brady Van Wyk, Nathan Russell; back: Coach Nick Harthoorn, Jake Brand, Brandon Dunsbergen, Connor Cullen, Ryan Jansen, TJ Cunningham, Ben Trettin, Coach Joel Harthoorn; and not pictured, Sage Ehresman, Tanner Briggs, Noah Engle, Baker Zegers, and Caleb James. Photo by Michael Trettin Photography