Tuesday, Nov. 5, 2013, was city election day in Iowa, and residents in Sully and Lynnville headed to the polls to cast their ballots and make their voices heard.

Write-in candidate for Sully Mayor, Brent Vander Molen, defeated Mayor Gordon Yarrington, 126-85. Yarrington had served as Sully Mayor for 22 years and was the only name on the ballot. The 31.7 percent voter turnout was one of the largest in recent years. A total of 214 ballots were cast out of 675 registered voters, according to unofficial election results from the Jasper County Auditor's Office.

Van Soelen, Vos, and Van Wyk elected to Sully City Council by write-in

Several residents publicized via social media, flyers, and newspaper advertising that if elected by write-in, they would serve on the Sully City Council for the next four years as there were no names on the ballot. Unofficial vote totals for the top three elected were  newcomers Brett Van Soelen with 167 votes and Diane Vos with 125, along with current councilmember Wes Van Wyk with 85 votes. Other write-in totals were: Darin Morvant, 62; Melinda Hardin, 43; current councilmember Brent Vander Molen, 26; and scattered write-ins, 47. Those elected by write-in have until 5 p.m. on Nov. 22 (10 days after the ballot canvass by the Jasper County Board of Supervisors on Nov. 12) to resign the position, in writing, if they do not wish to serve on the council.

Vote totals will become official after the election canvass by the Jasper County Board of Supervisors at their meeting on Nov. 12.