The weather was nearly perfect for Sully's Star Spangled Spectacular Fourth of July Celebration July 2-4, 2016. Hundreds of locals, former residents and their families, and special guests came to town.

A drizzly Saturday morning didn't stop 33 tractor drivers from participating in the Sully Fourth of July Tractor Ride on July 2 to Monroe for a morning snack break, to Pella for lunch, and back to Sully through Peoria. After postponements the past two years due to rain, this year they decided to have the ride rain or shine, but the weather may have cut down on those participating.

Saturday afternoon and evening before the fireworks, Peoria Team won the Fourth of July softball tournament over Caleb Vander Molen's Team, Jacob Van Manen's Team, and Kelsey Rozenboom's Team.

Cool temperatures, cloud cover, and 320 registered participants made a very successful 21st Annual Sully Freedom Fun Run Monday morning, July 4. Runners spanned the ages of toddlers in the kids' run around the square to a 5K runner in her 70s. Skyler Giddings of LeMars was the 5K male winner in 17:03. Jessica Alley of Ames was the overall female winner in the 5K with a time of f18:22. 

Around 75 parade entries celebrated the United States' 240th birthday on July 4. Parade winners were:

Winners in the adult firemen's waterfights were:

  1. Tony Van Wyk of Sully Fire Department
  2. Kurt Steenhoek of Monroe Fire Department
  3. Jeremy Vander Molen of Sully Fire Department.

Winners in the kids' waterfights were:

  1. Age 4, Gavin Gannaway
  2. Ages 5-6, Landon Van Wyk
  3. Ages 7-8, Cambria Van Dyke
  4. Ages 9-10, Paige Safly
  5. Ages 11-12, Luke Kramer

Concluding the celebration was a four-hour tractor pull near the Sully Public Works building in the business park on the west side of town. Harris Vos of Newton won five pulls in five weight classes: 5,500, 6,000, 6,500, 8,500,, and 9,500. Results follow.

To see more photos, check:

Thank you to everyone who attended and who helped make the Sully Fourth of July Celebration a success. See you next year!